Analogue Girl in a Digital World

Eryakah Badu is the Queen of Neo-Soul and the Queen of head wraps. She’s one of those rare artist whose image and style foreshadows her name. Her style is a vibrant bohemian aesthetic that includes bangles, hats (short and tall), scarfs, men’s clothing, and heels (platform to stilettos). When speaking about her style she refers to herself as a nonconformist (a person who refuses to conform, as to established customs, attitudes, or ideas.) “I make no distinction between what I wear on the street and the stage; it’s all just my style–I don’t work with a stylist, and I never plan what I’m going to wear, it’s always an of-the-moment thing.” Badu’s style influences are David Bowie, George Clinton, Boosty Collins and Chaka Khan. She’s also admires Rihanna’s style because she is not afraid to take chances and risks. In 2014 Erykah Badu was hand picked by Riccardo Tisci to co-style and star in Givenchy’s Spirng campaign for there Afro-Japanese collection.

erykah-badu-attends-the-charles-james--beyond-fashion-costume-institute-gala-at-the-metropolitan-museum-of-art

Ms Medulla Oblongata, which is another name she calls herself, has always been fashion inspiration to me. I’ve been mesmerized by her authentic style since her debut album Baduizm, I was 10 years old trying to wrap my hair like hers. Her style and music has encouraged me to live the life I want and not the life I’m told to live. She’s taught me how to live life outside of whats normal not caring what people think and eventually people will accept you or follow you.

Erykah Badu Fashion Timeline:

1997

erykah-badu-lilith-fair-1997-photo-GC

1998

a_4x-vertical

1999

erykah-badu-1999-02-24.nocrop.w1800.h1330

2000

erykah_badu_during_essence_awards_2000_to_be_aired_on_fox_tv_on_may_25_2000_at_radio_city_music_hall_in_new_york_city_new_york_united_states.

2007

erykah_badu_2

2011

Erykah-Badu-joins-Matt-an-012

2013

2013_BET_AWARDS_-_SHOW_31943757

Givenchy’s 2014 Spring Campaign

5_3 ErykahBaduGivenchy41 ErykahBaduGivenchy51 ErykahBaduGivency2

2015

Erykah Badu - Essence

Leave a comment